News and publications

Appointment of Victoria's new Road Safety Camera Commissioner

June 29 2022

The Office of the Road Safety Camera Commissioner is pleased to announce that Mr Neville Taylor APM has been officially appointed as Victoria’s next Road Safety Camera Commissioner for the next three years.  He is the fourth Commissioner to be appointed in this role by the Victorian Government.  He succeeds Mr Stephen Leane APM, who has accepted another statutory appointment.  The Office thanks Mr Leane for his enormous work in helping improve the engagement and dialogue between the road safety partners.

As the Road Safety Camera Commissioner, Neville is aware of the need to provide a robust independent oversight authority over the road safety camera system to ensure that changes to behaviour lead to reduced road trauma.  He believes that camera technology plays a crucial role, as part of a suite of various road safety measures, to keep the community safe on Victorian roads.

He is committed to helping achieve the Victorian Road Safety Strategy 2021–2030 goal of halving lives lost and reducing serious injuries on Victorian roads by 2030.  He will build on the work of Mr Leane by continuing to work closely with the road safety partners, government, the community, and other stakeholders.  For the next three years, Neville will continue to ensure that there is strong public confidence in Victoria’s road safety camera system and that they operate accurately, with integrity, and with efficiency.

We acknowledge Aboriginal Traditional Owners of Country throughout Victoria and pay respect to their cultures and Elders past, present and emerging.